Like a little slice of heaven - only not really . . .
navigation

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Rings
100 Things

me

Perhaps someday I will tell you more about me in this space. For now, you just have to learn it by reading my freakin' diary. Now get to it!


Last Five Entries

A note about a note - Monday, Mar. 26, 2007
It's so new it glitters. Okay, that's not true. None of it. - Tuesday, Feb. 27, 2007
Another MySpace Update - Friday, Jan. 12, 2007
MySpace Is Better Than Diaryland - Tuesday, Jan. 09, 2007
Go Over There - Monday, Oct. 09, 2006

thanks

Host
Design

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com Site Meter Get Listed!

Who links to me?

Buddy List

chickie-legs
facepunch
luvabeans
thedaria
bethany9
yeahimadork
bluemeany
haloaskew
sock-girlie
gia-darling
goingloopy
breatheasigh
misspinkkate
metanephros
kristintracy
serenaville
bigpimpinmba
red-savannah
zonoria
warcrygirl
nogooddaddy
juddhole
rumblelizard
trancejen
heidi75
awittykitty
nobodysdiary
reynedecoupe
poolagirl
smedindy
porktornado
ska-t
wombatcity
unfukd
jesbohn
clarity25
moonfaeryy
retailharlot
xkitix
almostnormal
candoor
heidiann
rebeckajane
leowna
pissymystic
kungfukitten
goddesskiki
dulligirl
spacemuppet
kaitlynelise

danjeruskurves
wiggie
Gentleman Jeff
Butterfly Sunshine

Happy Freaking Valentine's Day, Damn It.

2005-02-14|1:29 p.m.

Happy freaking Valentine's Day, damn it.

I think Beth put it best earlier today when she said "Valentine's Day sucks" Sure, a lot of it, for me, is the bitterness of being single on Valentines Day. But there is more.

Valentines Day seems like a 'Hallmark holiday' to me. (a holiday made up
by the greeting card industry just to sell more cards.)

Now some will say that Valentines Day is a real holiday that is rooted in
history. They will explain that St. Valentine was a priest who married
young soldiers in secret ceremonies against the wishes of Emperor Claudius
II. When Claudius discovered St. Valentine's betrayal, he ordered him to
be put to death.

They would continue saying that after St. Valentine was imprisoned, he fell
in love with the jailor's daughter. He would send her letters and sign
them, "from your Valentine."

To all of this, I respond with 'bullshit.' Now, I'm not saying that none
of this actually happened, just that there are many other events in history
that are of greater significance that are not celebrated. Which leads me
right back to Valentine's Day is a Hallmark holiday. I've never been a big
fan of it.

Or so I thought... I was horrified earlier today to discover that I don't
really feel this way. It's true, it's true.

When I read my 'Astrology.com Daily Horoscope' this morning (don't ask why
- I don't have a good reason,) here is what I was told. "If there's one
day that you understand, appreciate and enjoy, it's Valentine's Day. Now
that it's here, what are you to do? Assemble the dearest of the dears at
your place for a special dessert. That's what."

How can you argue with your horoscope? It obviously knows what it speaks
of. These things are facts, right? Why didn't I know I felt this way
until now? I would have saved so much energy not hating Valentine's Day
all of this time.

Oh well, I suppose there isn't much I can do about it now... Such is life
I guess.

Previously on Ramblin' Bill -- In The Year 2000!


The American Red Cross

The Current Terror Alert Level is:
Terror Alert Level