Like a little slice of heaven - only not really . . .
navigation

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Rings
100 Things

me

Perhaps someday I will tell you more about me in this space. For now, you just have to learn it by reading my freakin' diary. Now get to it!


Last Five Entries

A note about a note - Monday, Mar. 26, 2007
It's so new it glitters. Okay, that's not true. None of it. - Tuesday, Feb. 27, 2007
Another MySpace Update - Friday, Jan. 12, 2007
MySpace Is Better Than Diaryland - Tuesday, Jan. 09, 2007
Go Over There - Monday, Oct. 09, 2006

thanks

Host
Design

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com Site Meter Get Listed!

Who links to me?

Buddy List

chickie-legs
facepunch
luvabeans
thedaria
bethany9
yeahimadork
bluemeany
haloaskew
sock-girlie
gia-darling
goingloopy
breatheasigh
misspinkkate
metanephros
kristintracy
serenaville
bigpimpinmba
red-savannah
zonoria
warcrygirl
nogooddaddy
juddhole
rumblelizard
trancejen
heidi75
awittykitty
nobodysdiary
reynedecoupe
poolagirl
smedindy
porktornado
ska-t
wombatcity
unfukd
jesbohn
clarity25
moonfaeryy
retailharlot
xkitix
almostnormal
candoor
heidiann
rebeckajane
leowna
pissymystic
kungfukitten
goddesskiki
dulligirl
spacemuppet
kaitlynelise

danjeruskurves
wiggie
Gentleman Jeff
Butterfly Sunshine

Another Thanksgiving Memory

2004-11-25|9:00

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!

I just got home from a nice dinner with my mom and my aunt. Both of my sisters spent the holiday with their in-laws, so not a lot of people were at my mom's house this year.

Mom didn't cook. We dined out instead. We had turkey, stuffing, pumpkin pie and all the normal things you would expect (and a very nice and attractive waitress too!) however, it was not quite the same as having a home cooked meal.

When I was younger, we always had a home cooked meal on Thanksgiving.

I remember sitting around the dinner table one year, enjoying the turkey when I came up with a great idea... Why don't we get a live turkey, raise it for the next year, and then have it for Thanksgiving dinner the following year?

Both of my sisters thought this would be a great idea too. Although my parents were kind of against the idea, we eventually were able to talk them into it.

So the following weekend we all went to a turkey ranch (or would that be a turkey farm?) and picked out a turkey.

While driving home, we decided to name our new turkey Tom. (yeah, we were pretty original, no?)

Almost immediately Tom became another member of our family. When I would go out back to shoot baskets, Tom would stay right there with me, watching the ball the whole time.

When we would get off the bus after school each day, there was Tom up at the corner to greet us.

Every night as we sat around the dinner table, Tom was under the table begging for scraps.

As I would fall asleep at night, Tom would cuddle up with me in bed. In the morning when the sun came up, I would wake up to Tom's beak pecking at my forehead.

Tom was one of us. Eventually fall came around though... All of us didn't want Thanksgiving to come that year. We had all become very attached to Tom. The last thing any of us wanted to do was kill Tom.

So eventually Thanksgiving came. The day all of us dreaded. When it came time, none of us could kill Tom. So we ate the dog that night at dinner instead.

Sorry... Okay, so that story isn't true. But this one is.

Enjoy. And again, Happy Thanksgiving.

Previously on Ramblin' Bill -- In The Year 2000!


The American Red Cross

The Current Terror Alert Level is:
Terror Alert Level