Like a little slice of heaven - only not really . . .
navigation

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Rings
100 Things

me

Perhaps someday I will tell you more about me in this space. For now, you just have to learn it by reading my freakin' diary. Now get to it!


Last Five Entries

A note about a note - Monday, Mar. 26, 2007
It's so new it glitters. Okay, that's not true. None of it. - Tuesday, Feb. 27, 2007
Another MySpace Update - Friday, Jan. 12, 2007
MySpace Is Better Than Diaryland - Tuesday, Jan. 09, 2007
Go Over There - Monday, Oct. 09, 2006

thanks

Host
Design

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com Site Meter Get Listed!

Who links to me?

Buddy List

chickie-legs
facepunch
luvabeans
thedaria
bethany9
yeahimadork
bluemeany
haloaskew
sock-girlie
gia-darling
goingloopy
breatheasigh
misspinkkate
metanephros
kristintracy
serenaville
bigpimpinmba
red-savannah
zonoria
warcrygirl
nogooddaddy
juddhole
rumblelizard
trancejen
heidi75
awittykitty
nobodysdiary
reynedecoupe
poolagirl
smedindy
porktornado
ska-t
wombatcity
unfukd
jesbohn
clarity25
moonfaeryy
retailharlot
xkitix
almostnormal
candoor
heidiann
rebeckajane
leowna
pissymystic
kungfukitten
goddesskiki
dulligirl
spacemuppet
kaitlynelise

danjeruskurves
wiggie
Gentleman Jeff
Butterfly Sunshine

Super Bowl Ads

2005-02-07|11:39 p.m.

The best part of the Super Bowl to me is always the commercials. So I thought I would talk a little bit about my favorites, as well as my least favorite ads. So without any further ado:

The Best:

1) Ameriquest, "Bad Kitty" The image of the guy holding the tomato sauce stained cat in one hand, and the knife in the other when the girlfriend/wife entered the apartment will never leave my head. I mean that in a good way.

2) Bud Light, "Picture Phone" While at the big game, two guys use their picture phone to taunt a buddy. The buddy, in turn, sends pictures of him drinking his friend's beer with his friend's girlfriend.

3) NFL Network, "Thinking about Tomorrow" Watching NFL players singing "Tomorrow" from Annie makes me laugh... I think I remember it from last year, but I don't care. It was still funny.

4) Frito Lay, "Hammer Time" After some kids lose their baseball over the neighbors fence, they try to bargain with the crabby man next door by throwing over a bag of Lays Potato Chips. The crabby neighbor throws back everything he had in the back yard with him, including the ball, a dog, a car, and MC Hammer. Showing they had good taste, the kids threw Hammer back.

5) Ameriquest, "Costly Mistake" A guy in a convenience store tells the person on the other line that they're getting robbed on their mortgage. The store clerks think this guy is trying to rob them, and beat the tar outta him before tasering him. (and yes, tasering is a word, damn it.)


The Worst:

1) Diet Pepsi, "Puffy's Ride" P. Diddy gets a ride in a Diet Pepsi truck, so Carson Daly gets a Diet Pepsi truck. That seems about right. Carson Daly is a tool. I'm switching to Diet Coke.

2) Quizno's: "Baby" Usually, when someone in TV or the movies makes a baby do what babies can't really do - such as dance or talk, it annoys me. This commercial was no exception to that rule.

3) Ford, "Frozen Mustang" As the commercial told us, February isn't a good time to introduce a new convertible. As a matter of fact we were told this three times during the Super Bowl. I was hoping that at least they would end the commercial a different way, such as the cop tapping on the guy with his billy club, and the guy shattering into a million pieces. They didn't. I hate unfunny commercials. I hate it even more when they show unfunny commercials repeatedly.

4) Degree deodorant, "In-Action Hero" They started by selling dolls of mama's boys. I'd imagine that it could have been funny - a premise that could have worked. But it wasn't funny and it didn't work.

5) Bud Light, "Protective Bird" A parrot scolds guys as they try to hit on an attractive woman. Would this be funnier if I were an attractive female? I doubt it.

The Rest:

1) Emerald Nuts, "The Unicorn" After a father tells his daughter that unicorns will cease to exist if he gives her any of his Emerald Nuts, a unicorn, Santa Claus, and the Easter Bunny come to yell at her dad. Had I seen this commercial while watching a college basketball game, it would have been funnier... I guess I just expect more from Super Bowl ads.

2) Michelob, "Mood Music" Michelob continues its "Rich, but not smooth" campaign. Funny, but I have seen it before... Once again, I expect more from Super Bowl ads.

3) Fed Ex/Kinko's "Top Ten" Funny, but no where near as funny as the tomato sauce kitty commercial. I know it seems odd to say that they whored out - but they didn't even try to explain why they had a good product.

4) godaddy.com "Hot Committee Meeting" Without going to the site, tell me what this site is for. If you remember, you paid more attention than me.

5) Careerbuilder.com "All of the Chimp Commercials" I especially liked the one where the chimp made a copy of his butt... but chimps ain't as funny as they used to be.

So there you have it. Did you see any of the ads? What did you think?

Previously on Ramblin' Bill -- In The Year 2000!


The American Red Cross

The Current Terror Alert Level is:
Terror Alert Level