Like a little slice of heaven - only not really . . .
navigation

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Rings
100 Things

me

Perhaps someday I will tell you more about me in this space. For now, you just have to learn it by reading my freakin' diary. Now get to it!


Last Five Entries

A note about a note - Monday, Mar. 26, 2007
It's so new it glitters. Okay, that's not true. None of it. - Tuesday, Feb. 27, 2007
Another MySpace Update - Friday, Jan. 12, 2007
MySpace Is Better Than Diaryland - Tuesday, Jan. 09, 2007
Go Over There - Monday, Oct. 09, 2006

thanks

Host
Design

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com Site Meter Get Listed!

Who links to me?

Buddy List

chickie-legs
facepunch
luvabeans
thedaria
bethany9
yeahimadork
bluemeany
haloaskew
sock-girlie
gia-darling
goingloopy
breatheasigh
misspinkkate
metanephros
kristintracy
serenaville
bigpimpinmba
red-savannah
zonoria
warcrygirl
nogooddaddy
juddhole
rumblelizard
trancejen
heidi75
awittykitty
nobodysdiary
reynedecoupe
poolagirl
smedindy
porktornado
ska-t
wombatcity
unfukd
jesbohn
clarity25
moonfaeryy
retailharlot
xkitix
almostnormal
candoor
heidiann
rebeckajane
leowna
pissymystic
kungfukitten
goddesskiki
dulligirl
spacemuppet
kaitlynelise

danjeruskurves
wiggie
Gentleman Jeff
Butterfly Sunshine

Goodbye Johnny

2005-01-24|7:49 a.m.

Johnny Carson passed away on Sunday. Like anyone who used to watch him, this made me very sad.

As a child, I used to steal my dad's work tape recorder so I could play Johnny Carson with my sisters. I would be Johnny, and my sisters would be my guests.

After asking them a couple of questions, they would usually put a record on and sing along with it on the tape recorder.

Sometimes this made my dad angry - on at least on occasion I know I taped over important things of his with a little song I wrote about Phyllis Diller's hair. My dad recorded another song in the same tune telling me that I was in trouble and waited for me to find it (He knew I would.)

I remember getting permission to stay up late on Friday nights to watch Johnny Carson. I remember laughing hysterically (again with my dad) at so much that he did.

They have showed part of his interview with the potato chip lady on local news shows - but, at least as far as I have seen, they have not shown the best part. At one point in the interview with her, he pulled out a bowl of 'normal' chips and tricked her by eating one. The audience saw this coming, but the potato chip lady didn't.

Johnny pulled it off brilliantly. The scared look on her face for just a second was priceless - and Johnny was able to get her to laugh about it within a few seconds. I am not sure anyone else could pull that off.

I remember being in college when he retired. I knew that I would miss his charm and grace long after he went off the air.

A few years ago my mom got me "The Johnny Carson Collection" for Christmas. The night I got it, I stayed up until the early hours of the morning watching it. I don't think late night TV will ever have another host like Johnny. Today I am reminded just how much I miss him.

Previously on Ramblin' Bill -- In The Year 2000!


The American Red Cross

The Current Terror Alert Level is:
Terror Alert Level