Like a little slice of heaven - only not really . . .
navigation

Latest
Older
Profile
Notes
Rings
100 Things

me

Perhaps someday I will tell you more about me in this space. For now, you just have to learn it by reading my freakin' diary. Now get to it!


Last Five Entries

A note about a note - Monday, Mar. 26, 2007
It's so new it glitters. Okay, that's not true. None of it. - Tuesday, Feb. 27, 2007
Another MySpace Update - Friday, Jan. 12, 2007
MySpace Is Better Than Diaryland - Tuesday, Jan. 09, 2007
Go Over There - Monday, Oct. 09, 2006

thanks

Host
Design

Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com Site Meter Get Listed!

Who links to me?

Buddy List

chickie-legs
facepunch
luvabeans
thedaria
bethany9
yeahimadork
bluemeany
haloaskew
sock-girlie
gia-darling
goingloopy
breatheasigh
misspinkkate
metanephros
kristintracy
serenaville
bigpimpinmba
red-savannah
zonoria
warcrygirl
nogooddaddy
juddhole
rumblelizard
trancejen
heidi75
awittykitty
nobodysdiary
reynedecoupe
poolagirl
smedindy
porktornado
ska-t
wombatcity
unfukd
jesbohn
clarity25
moonfaeryy
retailharlot
xkitix
almostnormal
candoor
heidiann
rebeckajane
leowna
pissymystic
kungfukitten
goddesskiki
dulligirl
spacemuppet
kaitlynelise

danjeruskurves
wiggie
Gentleman Jeff
Butterfly Sunshine

The Fortune Cookie Game Conversation

2004-02-15|12:58 p.m.

So the other day at work I walk into a room where a conversation about fortune cookies was taking place.

Now whenever I hear about fortune cookies, I think of the wacky fortune cookie game where you add the words 'in bed' to the end of every fortune... (For example, "You will enjoy great prosperity." IN BED.)

It can be quite funny when you are sitting around a table with friends - especially when drinks are involved.

So anyway, there I am was work, and a three people were talking about fortune cookies. I realize that work may not be the best place to bring up the fortune cookie game, but in a moment of weakness, I did.

I asked "Hey, have you guys ever played the fortune cookie game?" This was greeted with blank stares and a "What?" so I explained what it was.

After the explanation, they said they knew of it. It was quite obvious though that they really did not find it that funny. One lady just said "Yeah" in a very monotone voice. Another did not say much of anything. The third person really was not paying attention to me, he was working.

At this point in the conversation, I realized that work was probably not the best place to bring up the fortune cookie game. But come on, it is only the words 'in bed.'

It's not like I was telling them to add the words "while fucking the shit out of your sexual partner" to the end of the fortune. (although the next time I play the game, perhaps I will say that instead.)

So because I was at work, I offered an apology to the people and quickly changed the topic. We talked about work for a few minutes, then I made my exit.

About a half hour later, the guy who was in the room with us came to my desk. I said something about making a mistake by bringing up the fortune cookie game.

He asked "You don't know what they were talking about, do you?"

I said "Yes I do, they were talking about fortune cookies." To which he responded, "well, kind of."

So I asked what 'kind of' meant. I was not really prepared for his answer.

Apparently, they were talking about making their own fortune cookies, and rather than putting fortunes in the cookies, they were going to put bible verses in the cookies.

So basically, I told them to say things like this...

In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth. IN BED!

or

Abraham begat Isaac; and Isaac begat Jacob; and Jacob begat Judas and his brethren; IN BED!

Or perhaps even this...

For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life. IN BED!

Whoops. Damn, I suck sometimes.

Previously on Ramblin' Bill -- In The Year 2000!


The American Red Cross

The Current Terror Alert Level is:
Terror Alert Level